Grease is the word

Andam por aí umas covers feitas em dupla por Flo Morrissey e Matthew E. White.

São dez faixas as que compõem o álbum Gentlewoman, Ruby Man. E que bom título é este. Há de tudo: de Velvet Underground a Leonard Cohen, de Frank Ocean a James Blake. Há também uma versão de “Grease” e, imagine-se, até George Harrison é chamado à lista.

A acompanhar, há um documentário sobre a gravação do disco. E há review promissora do Guardian.

It’s a highlight, but only just: Gentlewoman, Ruby Man is an album of an unerringly high standard. There’s a sweet moment during Look at What the Light Did Now where, before Morrissey’s vocal comes in, White – by some distance the better-known of the pair – introduces her by her first name, to an overdubbed round of applause. It’s presumably intended as a tongue-in-cheek joke, and perhaps a nod to the opening of Sgt Pepper. But by the time the album has finished, the applause seems less like a gag than something Morrissey and White richly deserve.

 E apresentação que levanta curiosidade.
Gentlewoman, Ruby Man is an album that’s going to be played a lot late at night. It’s lush and warm and enveloping; it sounds like the summer evenings on which it was recorded. It sounds like cold beer and hot food on the grill and friends lounging around on garden furniture. It sounds like the summer you want to have, but know you won’t be able to. It sounds like the best time ever. As I say, Morrissey and White are enough to make you sick.
O alinhamento do disco segue assim e pode ser ouvido aqui:
  1. Look At What The Light Did Now (Little Wings)
  2. Thinkin Bout You (Frank Ocean)
  3. Looking For You (Nino Ferrer)
  4. Colour Of Anything (James Blake)
  5. Everybody Loves The Sunshine (Roy Ayers)
  6. Grease (Barry Gibb)
  7. Suzanne (Leonard Cohen)
  8. Sunday Morning (Velvet Underground)
  9. Heaven Can Wait (Charlotte Gainsbourg)
  10. Govindam (George Harrison)